Brazil Seals Borders With Neighbors as Region Struggles to Control Coronavirus

SÃO PAULO—Brazil closed its borders with eight neighboring countries on Thursday, joining other South American nations in a continentwide quarantine as authorities struggle to control the spread of the coronavirus.

The measure taken by Brazil, the region’s largest economy, applies to Argentina, Bolivia, Colombia, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Guyana and the French overseas department of Guiana. Brazil’s border with Venezuela was already closed. The border with Uruguay remains open for now.

Tagged :

Leave a Reply